Road Map to the Future.

I’d like to take this opportunity to layout a road map for where I picture the game going in the near future.  As opposed to the very specific stuff I tend to get into in my Dev Journals, this is more meant as a general idea of where my plans are headed.  As I’ve mentioned before, my next big milestone is submitting my project for consideration to the Boston FIG, so currently my plans are built around that goal.  I have a clear idea of what I wish to get accomplished before that submission, lets just hope I am able to do it.

  1. Neaten up existing features.  Flesh out skill points, levels, and perk selections a bit in preparation for test build #1.  Release test build on May 7th.
  2. Get Feedback, adjust existing features based on it).
  3. Simultaneously to #2, implement significant itemization complete with equipables.  More on this to come, but I do not intend the same level of itemization that many/most RPGs of this sort have.  There will be some, but not a ton.  It’s one way I’m trying to cut back on scope.
  4. More testing, more feedback.
  5. Major UI overhaul.  I feel it is vitally important that whatever I submit for consideration have the best possible UI experience for the user.  I have a lot of guidelines and principles about the UI in games, but to this date I’ve been much more concerned with just getting things to work.  This absolutely needs to be addressed before submission time.
  6. More testing, more feedback.

In addition to the above, there are a few smaller items I would love to get in the game, but these are definitely the first things that will be cut as time because a concern:

  • Rudimentary towns with some limited vendor functionality
  • A proper intro to the narrative portion of the game (this would require the implementation of dialogue functionality, not a small task).
  • Some basic tutorial features.
  • A proper world map, multiple “dungeons” to explore.  This is actually a smaller task than it may seem, as at this time the only difference between one map and another is the landscape.  If I have a few hours and don’t mind the tedium I could easily throw in some more maps.  Of course, I’d also love to have some other tilesets to work with, so we’ll see.
  • A mini-map for battles.

I’d love to hear from you all.  What do you think of the roadmap?  Achievable? The submission deadline has been announced, and its June 19th.  That gives me just over 6 weeks.  What do you think I should focus on?  If you were judging entrance for the Boston FIG, what would you look for?

Posted in News
4 comments on “Road Map to the Future.
  1. In my opinion, your scope is way too big for a six week sprint. I think a good idea would be to dramatically reduce scope to the core gameplay mechanics and polish it as much as possible, especially if you are planning for a public showing.

    • If I was a judge, I would be looking for innovative games that do something new and make me say “wow”.

      • plethora22 says:

        Would you think it would benefit me in some way that this is a bigger game? I was struck by the fact that at last year’s fest there was very little on display (aside from a couple of notable examples from well known people) that would be any more than a 6 or 8 hour experience, even best case. Many were basically proof of concept and nothing more. Would that be a point I should emphasize do you think?

  2. Doesn’t matter how big your game is, what matters is the quality. Your game should look good and play well for an enjoyable user experience. A couple of those six weeks should be dedicated to testing and polish.

Leave a Reply

Follow Infinity Elephant Games on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
