Test Build… My Thoughts…

Well, I finally took the plunge.  I sent out a test build of my game to a handful of people who expressed an interest in helping me with it.  This is the very first time I’ve given out a non-trivial piece of my own software for someone else to mess around with.  It’s a milestone, and I hope its a good one.

In truth, I’m nervous.  As many other software developers can tell you, I often feel like the more I do on a project the more I realize how much is still left to do.  It’s like Sisyphus, except each time I reach a new milestone, the path to the next one is even longer, and there is no end in site.  I’m not despairing, I’m as confident as ever, so don’t take my tone the wrong way.  But each time I reach a new milestone, I can’t help but think I’m going to reach a point where someone is going to tell me “hey, it’s obvious you’ve put a lot of time and effort into this game, but this isn’t going anywhere.  It’s broken, it’s not fun, and for the time it would take to fix it you may as well start over”.  I have nightmares about that, and that’s a lot of the reason I have been stalling before giving out a build to anyone, despite many people expressing an interest.

So here we go, I guess we’ll see what happens.

Posted in News

Leave a Reply

Follow Infinity Elephant Games on WordPress.com
Follow me on Twitter
